The CPUN – An Alliance or a News Site?

January 29, 2011

  

Hello there people. It’s Mr Deedledoo here once again to post something interesting. 😆 This time, it’s to clarify what the CPUN really is.. You guys have probably noticed by now that we are constantly being compared to and competed with, by news sites. Well, this is the post we needed. 😉 Enjoy. :mrgreen:

Towards the end of the year 2009, the CPUN started to crumble from it’s once high stature. 2009 was the best year for the CPUN. I’m sure those of you who were here at that time would agree. Let’s say we had a little more active people than we have right now – and 90% of them became major army leaders, or were successful in turning their small army into a major army. Though they had to become inactive from the CPUN for obvious reasons, I am still honored to have become a part of their journey to excellence.

After Order 67 in 2008 (which was the big break into the ‘mainstream’ for us), the CPUN wasn’t just an alliance, it was a kind of.. ‘school’. It started helping armies, clubs, gangs, and individuals to become legends in the CP Army World. We, the staff, were the teachers. Whenever I’d invite someone into the CPUN, I’d always assure them that we’d provide them with information, tips, and protection. At times, I’d offer small army leaders and other people a chance to post their opinions here. We can learn a lot from small army leaders. The CPUN has it’s own cycle of life – without a piece, the whole cycle wouldn’t function properly. Examples of these pieces: Armies, the community, commenters, critics, etc.

I guess the end of 2009 was like the end of a schoolyear. People started growing out of their shells. We started to shrink. I believe part of it was my fault. I had to move country on the month of December leaving the website to Ktman. When I returned in January (after living in a hotel, buying a house, unpacking everything, setting up the computer, setting up connection negotiations), you could pretty much guess what had happened. Still, without Ktman, the site would have gone completely down.

This was a whole new different era. A different generation. 2010. The CPUN wasn’t heard of for some time and the newest craze was starting to show up – news sites. The CPA Central became hugely popular this year and many smaller news sites were starting to get the light as well. Some of these other news sites were – Club Penguin Army Express, Club Penguin Army Hangout, Club Penguin Small Army Central, and more. One of notable news site was the Club Penguin Army Express. Notable for insulting the CPUN and Dee himself throughout the year, the CPAE started out as the CPAZ – ‘The second largest news site’ (self-claimed) – before being hacked. CPAE was hacked twice. Lentalsoup was the main offense player, with old Shimmy being his greatest accomplice. I remember them being quite a big pain calling us inactive all the time for some reason. We didn’t look inactive though we had few people – so I guess they were just looking for competition. 😐 We’re not really fighting anymore.

Until now, news sites still target the CPUN or at least believe that the CPUN is just another news site. Even those who have known the Club Penguin United Nations for all their lives started thinking we were a news site. This was the  result of big influence of news sites in the CP Army World in 2010. The CPUN was going into competition for the first time in 2 years, against a category of CP sites that we weren’t even associated with – news sites.

The CPA Central considers the Club Penguin United Nations a big influence to news sites. Yes. We weren’t an army site. We were something else. BUT we were still CP Army related. Like myself. Though I may have not lead an army into a golden age, or through a world war and won – I still did something CP Army related, and hopefully significant enough – but that’s not for me to judge.

WE AREN’T A NEWS SITE

Unlike a news site, we can have as many biased posts as we want and not be on your everyday average critic’s ‘List of Hated and Over-Biased News Sites’.

I wanted to go on with this post and list the things we can do and not be criticized about, but I’ve decided I’ll make it in a comment. The things I said above is already too long, so I want your opinions in a comment! 😀

Try thinking of these questions as you make your own opinion:

  • What can the CPUN do that a news site can’t do?
  • What can the CPUN do to help an army that a news site can’t do?
  • What sort of people can the CPUN hire that a news site can’t?
  • What sort of activities can the CPUN hold that a news site can’t?

 

 

You’ve probably guessed that these are the questions I already have the answer for, but I’m sure all of you who know the CPUN dearly will be ready to argue. Let’s clarify ourselves once again. We aren’t a news site. This confusion has gone on for too long.

WHAT IS SO NEWS-LIKE IN THE NAME:

‘CLUB PENGUIN UNITED NATIONS’

?

This is Dee signing off! 🙂 I’ll be commenting once people start commenting too. 😛

-Dee

18 Responses

  1. 1st. 😆
    I felt old writing this.

  2. Lol, It’s totally an alliance…. Totally XP 😆

  3. Very good post I must say. But it isn’t suprising coming from you, Dee. 😀

    “2009 was the best year for the CPUN” haha Thats when I joined. 8)

    “90% of them became major army leaders, or were successful in turning their small army into a major army” I was that 10th person who wasn’t successfull. xD

    “without Ktman, the site would have gone completely down” I think that was the time when I became a little inactive cause I don’t have any memory of Ktman being ever ‘active’ here or doing anything useful. But then I did only join in April ’09 so I guess I missed his activeness.

    “news sites still target the CPUN or at least believe that the CPUN is just another news site” Agreed. Many people ask me on Xat if they think they are big enough to make it into our ‘Top 10’.

    What can the CPUN do that a news site can’t do?
    We can say whatever the freak we want.

    What can the CPUN do to help an army that a news site can’t do?
    Exactly, help an army. News sites can only publicize them.

    What sort of people can the CPUN hire that a news site can’t?
    People that aren’t afraid to say what they want to. People that become LEGENDARY.

    What sort of activities can the CPUN hold that a news site can’t?
    General Assemblys and Tournaments for SMALL armies.

    Whoa long comment. xD

  4. Sky. Ikr.

    Atm, future RPF leader much? 😆 Loved that analysis.

  5. •What can the CPUN do that a news site can’t do?

    -Alot. The CPUN CAN be biased however, army news sites cannot.

    •What can the CPUN do to help an army that a news site can’t do?

    -We DON’T need interesting news all the tim to put in posts etc. We have friendly staff that don’t mind helping someone out from time to time. This is where we excell from other sites and organisations.

    •What sort of people can the CPUN hire that a news site can’t?
    -People generally want to go into an Army News Site to get more well known. The CPUN takes anyone in no matter how bad they write or how little they do.

    •What sort of activities can the CPUN hold that a news site can’t?

    -The CPUN can hold meetings and discussions to solve problems between different armies. Army News Sites can’t and don’t because, at the end of the day, it’s another thing to write about.

  6. Well, we are both, conidering some people have added the news aspect but it is still like an alliance. Although I said both I actually wanted to say something else cause alliances don’t exactly help the others in building their army, lets just say wer are a United Nations and leave it at that.

    The real United Nations is more than an alliance, but I got to say, we aren’t as important. This needs to be “the place” for armies to come big or small! We are a part of every site that signed up but after they sign up they go to their own tune, as if they didn’t sign up in the first place! We need to have more to offer them, more than just tournies, but we can’t just claim new servers and give them in tournies before someone else will claim it, how about we have a series of steps, and to be honest, I think one of those steps is…

    Claim Mammoth

  7. I looked to the real United Nations site: http://www.un.org and found that while they provide news, that’s not their purpose. Their purpose is to promote world peace and security, economic development, humanitarian aid, human rights, and international law.
    Personally, I’m not sure if they’ve been living up to their purpose. Except for the Korean War, I’m not really sure what they’ve done to help things. I’m just dropping in after a long while, so I can only hope the CPUN has been living up to its purpose of an alliance for the small armies.

  8. Honestly, I don’t think claiming Mammoth will really help CPUN get more members. ACP currently rules Mammoth and this would get CPUN in war with ACP and they might not want to join.

  9. It was always my hidden dream for the CPUN to be able to accomplish something as big as claiming Mammoth and making it a free, neutral, and international server for all CP Armies – controlled by a neutral source!

    It would get the CPUN more members because people would want to take part in sharing Mammoth. What if we make Mammoth exclusively available for CPUN Members only? That’s how people would want to join their armies. How much more if we had more to offer our members? An offer to not be hacked by Miroos? An offer to be given the info of a pin instantly?

    If I only I were negotiable enough to make these things happen. I believe I’m not – but I believe the future CPUN leaders will be. I just feel I don’t have enough power and good relations with the ACP now. And even if we do get to use Mammoth for what we plan, I don’t know how I’m going to keep every army in the CPUN from being bored on this site. I’m probably not creative enough – but I’m sure the future will be – for whoever will run this alliance. 🙂

    We need a genius.

  10. Dee, we need to create a series of events that make a big impact on Cp armies, remember my Project DSARS? That should be one of those steps, maybe the first step, if you haven’t read it, click my name. But for project DSARS to work we need a large army and cp army advertisements to use it.

  11. Yer My OLD Self, that was in the past in my Noobish Times, CPUN is so great because we don’t only give news, we give our OPINIONS and what no other news site does, help others, they just post about them we actually go to their site help them build again, But could we have got here without Dee I do not think so, So I think we owe Dee a lot.
    Shimmy
    P.S Ik I have not been active, just got a new Ps3 game and got a religious thing which I have to lead coming up so practising for that, other than that, not much to post about, I am hoping to bring out my first biased post.

  12. Hm, i think that we’re more of both now too.. I mean, there has been a lotta news related posts. But then again, we did start off as an alliance, and still are. Maybe we could have like, a News Page? were people could post only news.

    If we could take over mammoth and then make it netural, that would probably upset the ACP. but it would also prove that we could do whatever we put are mind to. And that would get more armies to join, wanting to share that power and be apart of it.

    PS: I know I have not been active, my weekends have been really busy and I have been doing projects for school, but I am hoping to be active yet again

  13. its ok speed

  14. Taking over Mammoth would be great. If we really talked to the current leaders of the ACP I’m pretty sure they’d understand because there really isn’t any reason not to make it neutral. Even if they do try and think of reasons they should keep it. Hey, persuading and defending is my speciality. 😉

  15. Lol ATM.

    What can the CPUN do that a news site can’t do?
    we can post about anything we want cp warfare related
    What can the CPUN do to help an army that a news site can’t do?
    make it larger
    What sort of people can the CPUN hire that a news site can’t?
    Other people
    What sort of activities can the CPUN hold that a news site can’t?
    Better tournaments 😉 says the guy that won the last tournament 😆

    • “we can post about anything we want cp warfare related
      What do you call ATM’s Logbook then?

      “make it larger”
      Can’t publicity from a news site make an army larger too?

      “Better tournaments”
      How are they better? Because you won or do you have actual reasons?
      haha I love to analyze. xD

  16. Once again, lol ATM

  17. Yeah, I read yours and we can post about anything, I do my occasional CP secrets, ATM’s logbook, Speed’s Club Penguin stories, etc.

Leave a Response

